Memorial Day 2008 – Remember The Dead, Promote Peace…

…get this evil man out of office.

Today we remember those that have died for this country. We should remember what it is these brave men and women died for. They certainly didn’t die so our government could create and enforce oppression through thousands of new laws nor did they die so we could participate in unjust wars.

The United States has eagerly sent it’s children to die in wars that only end in disaster. We’ll never hear Iraq or Vietnam referred to as the ‘great war.’ Today the military has simply become another business which our president is more than happy to give our money to. Without going to far out there I’ll just say that it’s rather odd that our president, whose family is heavily involved in the oil business, has managed to get us into war over oil while having the price of gasoline double during his tenure. His war against Iraq was initiated by the actions of the son of a close family friend. If these things don’t rattle you a little bit I’m not sure what does.

Though it may be said that the best way to peace is to prepare for war I’d like to think the best way to memorialize the dead is stop adding to their numbers. It may be true that there is much evil in the world, but we must spend our time promoting peace and justice for all as well as the idea that ‘all men are created equal.’

So to all those who have died I say thank you for giving us this great country to live in and helping to give that same thing to others. May our actions in the future honor your service and your life.

Events in New Jersey
.

5 thoughts on “Memorial Day 2008 – Remember The Dead, Promote Peace…

  1. Memorial Day Sonnet

    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember what my freedom cost,
    By those who gave their all to keep me free,
    Whose lives were sacrificed, but never lost.
    I will remind myself of what they did,
    And keep them dearly cherished in my heart;
    Their honor never from me shall be hid
    And I will know they always did their part
    To save our nation and its people here,
    To pledge their lives in defense of our ways,
    To show that freedom always outlives fear,
    And sacrifice is hallowed all our days.
    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember those who kept me free.

    © John Stuart 2008
    Pastor at Erin Presbyterian Church,
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    Audio at:
    [audio src="http://media.libsyn.com/media/stushie/Memorial_Day.mp3" /]

  2. Please do not demean the sacrifices of our fallen to promote your anti-Bush rehtoric. Even if all you say is true, this day should not be used as a vehicle to advance your point of view about Bush. I am a veteran and I was in Operation Desert Shield and Desert Storm, and as such I would prefer for you to just remember the fallen on this day and leave the politics on the kitchen table.

  3. I’d love to do that in a more perfect world, but soldiers may die even today because of this president and I feel it completely appropriate to ask that this not happen.

    I understand your concerns and did take them into consideration before posting this. My first and foremost thought is for those that have died. However, as in any family, we want our brothers and sisters back safe and sound.

    I apologize if this is offensive to you, but I also honor the dead through one of the greatest gifts they’ve given us – free speech.

  4. I was not so much offended by your post as much as the general mentality of most people. Too many have forgoten the meaning of this day. For exampleI am sickened and disgusted with the plethora of Memorial Day sales. To me these sales are nothing more than blood money. I do find your response to be a respectful disagreement, which is equally refreshing to see in today’s society.

  5. I agree and I certainly do not mean to demean those who have fallen for our country.

    I agree with you 100% about the Memorial Day sales. I believe we can both agree that brave men and women did not die so that we could save 20%. It’s not only reprehensible from the business owners, but also those that buy into it and actually shop today.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

