John Lillpop Me Hace Triste

I don’t agree with ‘English Only’ advocates, but advocating for such a thing doesn’t make you a bad person. What makes you a bad person is calling out an entire people in an effort to demoralize and degrade. Only pompous arrogant narcissists would do such a thing. John Lillpop is apparently such a person as we see in his latest article How Does One Say “English Only” in Spanish?. A while back I’d about an article of Lillpop’s titled “Try McDonald’s Deportation Special, With Extra Salsa–To Go!”

A commenter trying to defend him wrote:

Besides, I would caution you against reckless branding of someone just because you disagree with his opinions.

Well, let me again ‘recklessly brand’ this man by using his own words:

To those who are bothered by English, be advised that America has good highways and roads leading southward, to a third-world slum where Spanish is spoken.

That would be Mexico, and do not let the door hit you and your tribe of illiterate peasants in the posteriors on your way out!

Yep, sounds like a real nice responsible man to me. Like I said John Lillpop me hace triste. What in the hell is wrong with people so full of hate? It’s obviously in John’s heart to hate and degrade others. That’s the spirit, champ! Doesn’t seem like Mr. Rogers got through to John when he was a Lil’pop.

I don’t dislike you John, I just think you’re misguided. Why don’t you sing this song with me and let’s become better people.

It’s You I Like

© 1971 Fred M. Rogers

It’s you I like
It’s not the things you wear.
It’s not the way you do your hair,
But it’s you I like.

The way you are right now,
the way down deep inside you,
Not the things that hide you
Not your hatred of Mexicans–that’s just beside you.

But it’s you I like.
Every part of you–
Your skin, your eyes, your feelings
Whether old or new.
I hope that you’ll remember
Even when you’re feeling blue
That it’s you I like, it’s you yourself
It’s you. It’s you I like.

Leave a Reply

