Officials Say Detainee Fatalities Were Missed – NY Times

Officials Say Detainee Fatalities Were Missed
By NINA BERNSTEIN
Published: August 18, 2009
More than one in 10 deaths in immigration detention since October 2003 were omitted from an official list, the Obama administration said.

It’s really not hard to understand how deaths in detention centers can be missed. When people are marginalized and treated as subhuman there is little need to take care of them much less count them. We are wholly responsible for what our society is and what becomes. Allowing people seeking a better life to die while awaiting judgment does not sound like freedom to me. When I think of freedom I feel the wind and the sun all telling me I can be whatever I want to be; I can go wherever I want to go.  What does freedom mean to you?

Leave a Reply

